On Air Now Topping In The Morning Wake up with Paul, Hayley, Emily and Heather 6:00am - 10:00am Kelly Clarkson - Stronger Schedule

Isle Of Wight School Term Dates For 2025 Revealed

Isle of Wight school term time dates for the year starting, September 2025 have been given the thumbs up.

The 2025/26 school year will again include a two-week October half-term break, which the Isle of Wight Council introduced in 2019 and has been used every year since.

The dates are:

  • Autumn Term – Monday, September 1, 2025 and ends on Friday, December 19 with the half term set for Monday, October 20 to Friday, October 31
  • Spring Term – Monday, January 5, 2026 and ends on Friday, March 27 with the half term set for the week beginning Monday, February 16
  • Summer Term – Monday, April 13, 2026 to Monday, July 27 with the half term set for the week beginning Monday, May 25

The Isle of Wight Council has the responsibility for setting the school year for maintained schools on the Island and overall, set 190 days for pupil attendance and 195 days for teachers.

The authority says it publishes the term dates well in advance so families can plan their holidays and arrange childcare so “school attendance need not be compromised.”

Academies and free schools are allowed to set their own term dates.

The dates were approved by the Isle of Wight Council’s cabinet at its meeting last night (Thursday).

More from Isle of Wight News